A Good Day

My partner is very good at gift giving.  She always seems to know just what I want or need.  This year, for my birthday, I asked for a weekend free from decisions.  As in I did not want to choose where to go, what to do, or who to bring.

Of course, I was able to guess where we were going to.  The clues were rampant: indoor clothes, daylight hours, current interests.  Really, though, how I knew? It was where I wanted to go.

The Exploratorium in San Francisco, California is an amazing place.  If you haven’t gone, I highly recommend it for all ages, although if you have kids…if you live in the Bay Area or surrounding area and have never taken your kids to the Exploratorium…you’re banned. Effective Immediately.

In any case, the Exploratorium teaches through play.  They have hundreds of exhibits aimed at teaching a user about one or more concepts be it alpha-particle radiation in their cloud chamber or how the brain mixes contradictory thermal signals from the hands to make it feel like they’re burning, it’s all science, baby.

My favorite exhibits were also the simplest: the spinning table, the xylophone room, the “forest floor” with the long distance microscopes.  Simple concepts, hours of fun!

What’s your favorite exhibit?

Leave a Reply

