In which the author decides to change his life

I’m starting this blog in order to chronicle my experience as my big life as a Reliability Engineer ends and I try to make my way in the world as a self employed man.

There is no plan. The plan will come.
Read all or read some, it make me no nevermind. I’ll be writing about whatever strikes my fancy over the coming months.
Most of what I write is in the form of an assertion or question about the world. These ideas come and go, but the ones that people argue against last the longest.  Please don’t hesitate to weigh in.

I’ve been described as “sharp” in my arguments; as in cutting.  Know that I am trying to soften my style, but be prepared to argue your case.  Try not to take it personally.

Part of the purpose of this blog is to help me explore my motivations for opting out. What is it about the system as-is that is so bad? How much change can each and every one of us make to the system? Is it possible to ease into a new and better way?

Change can be gradual– I believe that the world is a better place for most than it was 20 years ago.  Change can also be sudden– witness the so-called Arab Spring.  I believe that change is coming to this country, gradually or suddenly, and if I’m not ready for it…let’s just say that it won’t be a good thing.

I am not going to try to get another engineering job for at least a year.  Any engineering work that I do will be done from home.  This will be one way for me to make the money needed to exist in the system as it stands today.

Be the Change you want to see in the world – Mahatma Ghandi

2 thoughts on “In which the author decides to change his life

Leave a Reply

